Beautiful Dreamer

Ruby and I watched some of “Cinderella” yesterday.  She’s not feeling 100% and when that happens, she wants movies.  Preferably girly movies with princesses.

We have the old animated version, featuring a lovely blonde girl as Cinderella who befriends birds, domestic pets and vermin alike. Any friend is a good friend, be they winged, tailed or squeaky. I do enjoy it.  And I didn’t mind watching it again.

What struck me was this song

Do we really believe this?  “No matter how your heart is grieving, if you keep on believing, the dream that you wish will come true”.  We have fed this to generations of kids.  Heck, I grew up on fairy tales just as much as the next kid.  Snow White, Sleeping Beauty (one of Zac’s favorites when he was little), and later, Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast.  This by no means encompasses all of them, but the basic idea is the same.  What you dream – your greatest desire – can happen.  Ariel wanted to be “where the people are”.  Cinderella wanted to be in love and swept off her feet.

I think somewhere along the line I stopped believing in my dreams.  Well, some were sorta bizarre.  Sure, I set goals and I go after them.  But talking about dreams seems wishy-washy and childish. Yes, I know it’s part of the motivational kind of talks. And a secret ingredient in infomercials, which I love. I’m starting to think it’s possible to dream again.  It’s possible to conceive exciting things and wait and hope for them.  I believe this is the heart of God.  The Bible says “No eye has seen and no ear has heard the things that God has for those who fear Him”. Dreams depend more on God’s timing and blessing, I think, than our own effort, though we may be required to supply something. Goals are dreams’ practical older sister. Goals have steps and effort and discipline attached.  Dreams are the mystical siblings.

One of my dreams was to have two kids, a boy and a girl.  And I did.  Another one was to own our own home.  Check! Now I’m working on training for the marathon.  My dream is to run one.  My goal is to run it well, and finish without throwing up.  I don’t want to attach a time to it. I need both, in this case, for my dream to come true.  Other dreams we have are to financially secure and completely out of debt.  I want to be a published author someday; this blog is a piece of that.

What about you?  Do you still dream?  What are yours?

Leave a Reply

