Tags

, , ,

I have a small dilemma.  I need to write a condolence card to someone who had a loved one pass away.  And I just can’t seem to do it.

As a kid, my parents made us write thank-you notes to relatives far away who sent money or presents.  They needed to know we received it and that we were grateful.  I hated doing it, not that I wasn’t pleased by their gift.  What to say to someone you didn’t see very often? How can you avoid sounding crass?  “Thanks for the dough, bro!”

I don’t want to be too breezy.  I don’t want to be too mournful.  I didn’t know the person well, and I don’t know the recipient of my card very well, either.  But I need to do it. While I know that writing notes and sending them via snail mail is very last millennium, sometimes no other type of correspondence will do.

I’ve been putting this off for over a month now.  I know, I know; I’m generally not much of a procrastinator.  I kinda stink at it.  But there are some things that need a bit of – inspiration.  Or possibly finesse.  Not to mention better penmanship.  But there you go.

I don’t doubt that I *should* do it.  At all.  My only obstacle is that I don’t want to leave the wrong impression.

I was mulling all these “shoulds” and “don’ts” over and I realized something:  there is no wrong way to do this.  Oh sure, I could make an idiot of myself by glossing over the great loss. But I know I won’t do that.  This person needs to know that I care and I’m thinking about them.  It doesn’t have to be a lengthy missive.  It doesn’t even have to be a particularly witty note.  It just needs to be. There is no wrong way to do this.

All right.  Taking a deep breath, and getting to it now.

What holds you back from doing the write thing?

