Tags

, , ,

So Obama won a second term.  My husband and I watched the election coverage, along with our son, for several hours.  It was fascinating, flipping between ABC News and Fox News.  Fox News was highly indignant when Ohio was conceded to Obama before all the votes were counted.  So were we.  But in the end, he won.  The sun continues to rise and set, regardless.

I’m going to say something here that may make you dislike me greatly.  When we first moved up here 6 years ago, I saw bumper stickers in the parking lot of stores that said, “She’s not my Governor!” , referring to Christine Gregoire, then-governor of Washington.  I laughed at first.  You think you’re a separate nation inside of Washington State? Gonna secede from the state? I got news for you, as one of my parental units used to say.  You’re not.  If you live in Washington, she’s your governor.  Period.  It’s not up for debate.

And that’s how I feel about this election.  I did not vote for Obama.  I couldn’t, based on how I felt about some key issues.  But now he’s president again, or still.  That does not mean I get to bad-mouth him or run him into the ground.

I want to go on record as saying how disappointed I am in my friends who have made it clear on Facebook and other places that they’d rather move out of the country than have another 4 years of Obama’s presidency.  I’m so disappointed.  He’s the president and you live in the United States. What kind of message does that send to your kids or to other citizens?  “Just give up.  Our votes don’t matter.  America is going to hell in a handbasket.”  Whatever happened to good sportsmanship?  When did politics get so polarizing? It’s disgusting.

If you want things to change and you’re a believer, pray.  The votes for legalizing marijuana in our state as well as gay marriage reflect the majority rule.  It’s not some kind of conspiracy; it’s reality.  Just like the referendum on the ballot to make sure our state congress has to have 2/3 majority to add any kind of taxes, gets reinstated every two years based on a public vote. That’s one thing that unites us Washingtonians – no more new taxes!

What now?  Pray.  It’s okay to be discouraged and work through that, but then move on. Get involved.  Stop whining and start working.  My husband lost his job in August 2011 because of Obama’s administration not approving the funding for his company’s program at JBLM.  We could see it coming but it was tough nonetheless. We had the audacity to hope for something better.  He got it in May of this year.  Ultimately, God is in control.  He works all things together for good for those who are the called according to Christ Jesus.  Will we believe it? Will hope win out?

