Challenge Times Two

Just a few highlights:

I ran 23 miles this week.  I’m faithfully doing the challenge from Runners World of “run at least a mile a day every day between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day”.  So far, it’s been fun.  I haven’t done any super long runs and for that my leg is thankful.  It’s nice to be able to say,”Today I’m running 2 miles!” It feels like a day off.  Of course, I’m still doing kettlebells and throwing in other stuff here and there – jumping rope – to keep it interesting.  All running and nothing else makes this girl crazy!

I met a gal at the gym yesterday who has lost 50 lbs. since June.  Wow!  That inspired me.  She said she’s stepping it up to get the rest of the weight off.

Tonight, I start the gluten-free challenge.  I think I’ve put it off long enough, since 2012 is almost over.  Gotta get it in before the end of the world, ya know.  I’m only doing it for one week, as it’s expensive to eat this way!  I spent almost $30 on stuff just for me to ingest this week.  What a racket.  I purchased one loaf of rice flour bread, one package of gluten-free tortillas, a bag of rice-popcorn type chips (hey, I know me!), a box of cereal, a cookie and a frozen pizza, oh and some dark chocolate.  We’re doing our pizza and movie night tonight and I want to still participate, see how the other half lives.  I had only one choice of pizza.  Good thing I like cheese.  I would’ve gotten red vines for dessert, but did you know those are made with wheat flour?  So I got a pre-made, glutenless chocolate chip cookie instead.  I’m looking forward to seeing what the pizza and the cookie taste like, since I’m a great lover of both of those when made with regular flour.  I plan on upping my fruits and veggies and protein this week, as I try to continue my running and I want to keep up the same number of  miles, seeing how this new lifestyle holds up to my regular, floury one.

I may try baking some things to see if this is a change that could be equivalent for me in any sense of the world, but I’m not sure yet. I haven’t heard good things about how gluten-free tastes.  I have heard, however, that it clears your skin and digestive tract as well as giving you more energy. At least, that’s what Miley Cyrus says. I will keep you posted on how it goes.  I’m starting to find some recipes to try; my curiosity is piqued.  I’m a food scientist in the making.  Look out, Alton Brown!

So those are my two challenges:  running every day and not eating any gluten this week.  What are yours?

Leave a Reply

