Tags

, , , , ,

chocolate chip cookies

It’s a new year.  Time for some fresh-baked goals.

In 2013, I would like to:

Work out 300+ times.

Run 1000 miles.

Lose 4 lbs (as of this morning’s weigh-in).  Maybe more, but I like round numbers.  I personally don’t like to be round, but the number on the scale…Eh.  You get my point.

Ruby wants to spend 2 nights at her cousins’ house and one at her friend James’ house.

I also think I need to be in the presence of God more.  Yes, reading the Bible, of course, but I also need to be praying and just being.  Zac and I have decided not to read the Bible all the way through this year, but are unsure what exactly to do.  You can get a little bored with reading according to a plan.  As for me, I get high on check marks.  I’m a list person and love to mark things off.  Seriously.  Does anyone else think check boxes are sexy?  No? That being said, you can get way too many kudos for doing the right things and your heart being miles away. I want to be “in it” more.  I want the Word to come alive to me this year in a new, fresh way.  That’s my prayer.

I need to be writing more – stories, memories, etc.  Who cares if they’re terrible?  Well, okay, I do.  But most will probably never see the light of day.  I might even sign up for another writing class at the community college.  Maybe this one won’t get canceled.

I really, really want to get published.  Gotta have some material first, no?

Jonathon wants to lose weight, preferably by not amputating a limb.

I have a personal journal that I write in sporadically. In fact, I start one every year.   I need to be writing in it on a daily basis.  I tend to be a written processor (in case you haven’t guessed)  as opposed to a verbal processor. It helps to write things out.  It keeps me from saying things without thinking them through.  The trouble is my handwriting is atrocious.  So, I get these great insights, write them out, and then…I can’t read them.  It’s pathetic.  But then, it will save my children the trouble of burning them after I die.  They’re indecipherable.  Who needs a secret code?

Zac wants to eat his weight in chocolate this year.

Lastly, I need to make time for fun.  I can become very task-oriented and miss the joy of doing.  Sure, accomplishing things can be rewarding.  But so can reading a book, taking a walk, or hanging out with friends.  I can also find the fun in everyday tasks like making dinner.  Swedish chef, anyone?

I fully expect to continue to grow into the person God wants me to be as I seek after Him.  That’s my ultimate goal.

What are your goals in this new year?

