Tags

, , ,

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” – Albert Einstein

I keep hearing this quote everywhere.  I see it everywhere, too.  I guess I’m wondering…is it true?  Do I believe “The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation”?  (Thoreau).  Hmm.  I know I don’t want to live that way.

Recently, a Japanese zoologist and a team of scientists captured a giant squid live on film.  The squid, only 10 feet long (!), was swimming a half-mile below the ocean’s surface.  They lay in wait, in the dark and quiet, for the squid to swim by.

Why?  What’s the point?  We know squid live in the deep places.  They wash up on shore when they die.  Why look for them?  Why spend years of your life seeking and watching adn waiting, like Captain Ahab hunting Moby Dick?

Because, it’s a quest.  Nobody had ever seen one in its natural habitat before.  Not one that was alive and swimming.  Something like that, friends, is poetry in motion.  Okay, stinky fishy smelling poetry, but still beautiful. It looks like underwater ballet.

“If you try to approach making a lot of noise, using bright lights, then the squid won’t come anywhere near you, “ he said. “So we sat there in the pitch black, using a near-infrared light invisible even to the human eye, waiting for the giant to approach,” said Tsunemi Kubodera, zoologist.

I suppose this fascinates me in part because long ago, I wanted to be a marine biologist.  At least, I did until I discovered they dissected fish all day.  No fanks! as Zac used to say.  Apparently, zoology is where it’s at.  These men in a submersible have discovered something nobody else has seen before.  It’s a miracle.

But we encounter miracles every day.  Our bodies – intricate and self-healing – are fabulous.  We only look at their outsides and wish we were stronger or thinner – or taller.  Our families and friendships, the threads that connect us and make up our lives and communities, should astound us.  Even the rain watering the earth (copiously) is a marvel of meteorology we don’t even have to think about.

I want to live as though everything is a miracle.  It’s so easy to get bogged down in the routines of life.  I’m going to start looking for the silver linings.  I don’t want to be fakey about it, but simply to appreciate the good things that I pass by every day.  There is so much wonder left in the world.

