Writer’s Jitters

I’m going to my first writer’s group today.  We’re going to meet at the Shelton library.  I’m a little nervous.  I mean, I don’t have any material.  Houghton Mifflin is not hounding me.  Sure, I have this blog.  I don’t, however, have any short stories, poems, or unfinished novels lying around.

Which begs the question…why not?

I think I haven’t let myself work on things like that.  They seem “trivial”.  Like a blog is so substantial!  I haven’t struggled with creating a character or a plot or denouement.  It’s not how I roll.  I am not sure if I will be considered worthy.

Will I find them, these other wordsmiths, lost members of my tribe?  Is there an essay test? Will we bond over the correct use of “its”? Will I have to give a blood sample or some DNA?  “Susan, are you *really* a writer?  I need 10 synonyms for nice.  Go!”

So I think I’ll print a few blog posts and read them, if asked.  Is any of my work any good?  Dunno.

Failing that, I’ll blend into the wallpaper and observe, taking deep breaths of the rarefied air. Isn’t that what writers do? It’s a bit overwhelming to finally get to know other locals of my ilk, in the flesh.

Gulp.

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Jitters

  1. Most writing groups are pretty mellow. Or at least they should be. The critiques themselves might get harsh (depending on how diplomatic the critiquers are), but if what you’re looking for is inspiration or camaraderie, you should have no problems. If they consider you unworthy, that’s on them, not you. You’ll do fine.

    Like

    • Thanks, lynxchild! They were great. I read a couple of blog posts and nobody laughed…except where they were supposed to 😉 I appreciate your support.

      Like

      • Sure! I actually had a writer’s group meeting tonight myself, though they were all classmates of mine before we started the group so I already knew them. However, I was in a different writer’s group a few years ago, and I remember getting those same jitters. I just thought I’d pass on what I’d learned.

        Like

  2. Honey, I’m sure it went fine for you. You do have a wonderful talent for writing. We are a family of artistes, doncha know… I have been amazed at your insight about things I didn’t know you even thought about. You and Aunt Susan are the writers in the family. The rest of us play our instruments, sing, do art, etc. Writing is a great gift and you have it, baby!

    Date: Fri, 8 Feb 2013 01:57:17 +0000 To: joan_cheston@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

