Tags

, , , , , , ,

deer

There are times when things don’t go as you planned. Life can be incredibly disappointing.  I found myself feeling really discouraged today about circumstances I can’t control.  As I devour the book of Psalms in my Bible reading plan, I came across Psalm 42 and 43.  These, my version says, were originally one psalm.  Perhaps it got too long and so someone divided them. “As The Deer” , that old worship chorus, was pulled straight from Psalm 42.

This is a song written by the sons of Korah.  Some Korahites were warriors, some were doorkeepers and some ministered in song.  They were counted among the Levites, who served the Jewish priesthood.

The recurring refrain in the NLT is:  Why am I discouraged?  Why is my heart so sad?  I will put my hope in God!  I will praise Him again – my savior and my God!

As the deer longs for streams of water, so I long for you, O God (42:1).  Yes.  I need Your presence today, right now.  You are the one who can satisfy my need.

I hear the tumult of the raging seas as your waves and surging tides sweep over me (42:7).  It’s pouring outside and has been all day.  The wind pushes the rain sideways, making visibility extremely limited. Inside, Rex and Chloe take turns pounding each other, stirred up by the wind.  A storm rages outside, the wind and rain seemingly inseparable as they wreak havoc on all under their power.

The day feels almost pre-dawn in its bleakness.  Send out your light and your truth; let them guide me (43:3).

And that is what I am learning – choosing – to do today.  We can’t rely on others to lift us up; we need to go to the one true source.  God is my only safe haven.  Even though my heart may be troubled and things look bleak, He is still in control. As the animals of the field and forest trust there will be food for to eat and water to drink, so I will trust.  But each day the Lord pours his unfailing love upon me, and through each night I sing his songs, praying to God who gives me life (42:8).

Why am I discouraged?  Why is my heart so sad?  I will put my hope in God!  I will praise Him again – my savior and my God!

