Math As Life

Ruby’s sitting next to me doing her math homework.  Homework!  In first grade!  She gets a packet every Tuesday afternoon she needs to complete and return by the following Monday.  Anyway, now that *that’s* behind us, she’s doing math.

“Mom, can you help me with this?” she asked.

I”m pretty sure it’s still within my skill set, so I say sure.

It’s adding numbers.  You remember those worksheets.  You have blocks of tens in one orderly stack and a set of random blocks, representing the ones, in another line.  She does the first problem and then shows me.  Six groups of ten plus 8 ones = 68.  Right!

I congratulated her.

“But what if there are tricky ones?” she wonders, with a little trepidation.  Fear of the unknown exists even in arithmetic – or perhaps especially in that universe.

Good question.  I glance over the page.  There are no tricky ones.  If you follow the formula of counting the blocks – eventually moving into multiplication – you will be fine.  I reassure her that she’s got this.  She plows on through the pages.

If only life could be so simple!  Maybe it can be. We certainly don’t know what waits for us down the road or around the next bend. If we continue to trust in the Lord and lean on His understanding instead of ours, asking for wisdom and guidance, we will make it.  It probably won’t be as straightforward as adding blocks together; I do know that.  But it can be done.  We can finish and finish well.

Tomorrow I will once again be at the Microsoft PAC, taking notes for two days.  I most likely will not blog Monday and Tuesday because my hands will be one with this laptop jotting down the participants’ relevant thoughts.  You know you’ll miss me.  See you on the other side!

Leave a Reply

