Tags

, , , , ,

wonder-woman

This lack of sleep thing is getting me into trouble.  Oh, Ruby slept more last night, but I still have a deficit, apparently.

Today, I managed a TMI  moment in my texting.  Awesome! I quickly apologized, but the damage had been done.  I feel like I’m trapped in Wonder Woman’s Lasso of Truth.  It’s invisible, though, instead of shiny gold this time, and I can’t tell when I’ve shared too much except for after the fact. Maybe someone slipped some truth serum into my coffee this morning, a sort of honest Mickey Finn.  I don’t know.  So, I guess if you’ve always wondered what I *really* think about you or some particular circumstance, now is the time to ask me.  Because stuff will fall out of my face.  Nothing but the truth, the whole truth, so help me God.

Eek.

Truth, however, can be elusive. People have their own ideas of truth.  What I will say is my own interpretation of truth.  Gravity is a universal truth.  We will all feel its inevitable tug if we jump off a building without some way to counteract it.  Another truth everyone can agree with is that the sky is blue.  Here in Washington, if memory serves, it is blue.  It rains a lot.  It floods here, too. Rain is wet.  These – I hope – are things we can all agree on.

What is true about politicians, actors, government and so on are heavily interpreted by the media and our own prejudices.  What is true about God can fit in here, too.  I have known people who believe there is no God; that is their truth.  They say anything attributed to God really should rightfully be placed at the feet of Fate or coincidence.  Others embrace God in context with Mormonism or Jehovah’s Witnesses.  Still others believe it all.  I think of it as “no god left behind.”  They don’t want to be wrong at the end of their lives, so why leave anyone out?  Everybody in the pool!

But I can’t shake the scripture where Jesus says, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me ” (John 14:6). That’s pretty direct.  It’s a one God, one Savior, one path kind of deal.  No Shiva, no Isis, no Mohammed, Joseph Smith or Kool-Aid required.  I realize some might find this offensive, but I’m only speaking the truth that I know.

Blame it on the lasso.

