Spring Break Blues

finding nemo

We did the challenge in kettlebells, and now my hands are thrashed.  I got some sports tape from our instructor for my left hand, which helped doing the hundreds of swings, but still probably didn’t help in the pressure department. Now, my right hand is hamburgered, too.  Sigh.

And my computer has been overheating.  This means it randomly shuts down for no reason.  Well, there’s a reason, but *I* don’t feel hot.  Why should Lucky?

Its’ raining.  Again.  It’s the last day of Spring Break.  The kids and I are getting punchy.  I’m ready for them to go back to school. I think they are, too. I miss a little time where someone doesn’t need me for something.

I just started sneezing in earnest today.  I ran outside yesterday morning.  Some kind of mild seasonal allergy thing.  Sigh again.

I feel full of complaints today.  But I don’t want to stay here.

I may not see all the good things in this life.  In fact, most of the things I may see at any given time could look like bad circumstances to me.  Sometimes, as a mom, my heart feels like it goes through a meat grinder, making “hamburger” of my heart.  But 2 Corinthians 12:9 says “My grace is all you need.  My power works best in weakness.”  So Lord, let your Spirit of grace flow, even when I feel like a limp dishrag.

This means I must choose to be grateful.  I have to change my thoughts.  Thank you, Lord, that we’re home together.  Thank you for the playdate with my wonderful friend and her girls this morning that cheered my heart.  Thank you for good movies like “Finding Nemo” that Ruby can watch over and over.  I know this rain will bring out some lovely lilacs and beautiful tulips.  Thank you that Zac and his friend have had so much uninterrupted time together, playing the same video game.  Thank you for my husband, working away to provide for us.  Thanks so much that it’s Friday, and pizza and movie loom on the horizon.

God is good, all the time.  Perhaps especially when I can’t see.

4 thoughts on “Spring Break Blues

  1. I can SO relate – thanks for sharing your heart and reminding me I am not alone! 🙂 We are truly blessed, but even in the midst of our blessings we can let the world or our current circumstances drag us down. Yet in the midst of it all, we can find the little things to bring us back to reality of just how blessed we are! HUGS and BLESSINGS FRIEND!

    Like

  2. Yeah, this weather is a downer…. Got my cookbook and tried the broccoli-mushroom dish, this time as a frittata, as we had both thought. Didn’t like it as well, needs more spice or something. Of course, I WILL eat it. Also, guess I can use almond flour, instead of soy flour (yay!), AND her rules aren’t quite so strict in some small areas, so that may help. The weather IS yucky, and will be so for several more days…gaaccck! Got my LANDS End tops, 3 in medium. They look smallish to me, but, I am saving the receipts in case I don’t quite make it. After all, it’s been less than 3 weeks—13 to go! Am feeling a little down after such a nice visit with you all. Have to go grocery shopping. One new recipe I can use now calls for 1/2 banana, 2 tsp of dark chocolate chips (be still, my beating heart!) peanut butter and celery. Can I buy half a banana and 2 tsp of chips? Good question! I should make a list and get going–maybe even buy some McD’s unsweetened iced tea and add stevia. Oh, joy! Oh, rapture! Remember, my sweet girl, how much I love you (and your family)! Love, Mom

    Date: Fri, 5 Apr 2013 21:50:54 +0000 To: joan_cheston@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

