Identity Theft

Not nearly this funny.

Not nearly this funny.

I am so grateful I have a friend who can point me in the right direction when I start to doubt myself.
Sometimes, things happen that are exceptionally painful. People misrepresent us. They malign our characters. They tell us we’re bad, bad people. I had an experience recently where someone I trusted pointed out a number of things they thought needed to change in me. There was a speck of truth in some of their words; I am not perfect. But the 90% of it that was leftover, well, let’s just call it dung.
Only I couldn’t see that their words were wrong for what seemed like a long time.  It eviscerated me.  I felt like a popped balloon. Their observations stung like nettles in my heart.  I was able to function, kinda, but not in the joy and energy of my usual self.  To be perfectly frank, I wanted to stay in bed and pull the covers over my head.  I forgave, and repented of being bitter, and forgave again.  I would have a momentary victory and then fall right back down into the pit of despair (thank you, Princess Bride).  This person – their words –  had stolen my true identity.
I was messed up –  until I called someone with some wisdom.  I didn’t like the reflection I was seeing in this new mirror.  I needed a person outside the situation who could see things completely unbiased (well, except for having the best for me in mind).  Was there any redeeming quality to what was said?  Not really.  It only caused me pain to mull it over and even consider it.

“But what does God say about you?” she asked me.  Ah.  There’s the rub.  Whose report will you believe?  The words of the enemy (lurking in the mouth of a friend) or the Lover of my soul?  See, the real enemy is *not* my friend, despite all appearances.

She had me confess all the lies and then speak out the truth, God’s word, over myself.  Did you know words have the power to create?  So why let someone else create your life, your opinion of yourself?  Why not go to the Source for it?  He doesn’t see me as worthless or rotten.  He sees me as beautiful and lovely, desirable and worthy.  He sees me through Jesus.

Whose report will you believe? That’s my word to you today.  Remember you are fearfully and wonderfully made.  Nobody can take that from you…unless you let them.

2 thoughts on “Identity Theft

Leave a Reply

