Tags

, , ,

I went to the store to buy new sunglasses today.  I broke my last pair in two places.  Lest you think I’m some sort of fashionista, fear not!  I will wear whatever sunglasses are handy, much to my son’s dismay. I don’t like squinting.  However, I am not going to spend $100 on vintage Wayfarers or somesuch.  We don’t have enough sun up here to justify having famous name sunblockers.  Besides, I’d probably break them anyway.

I went to the meager selection of sunglasses.  It seemed they were out there to appease the dolts like me who broke theirs or lost them.  We’re having a sunny week.  Don’t worry; it will pass.  I looked around and around the pairs, some 3 dozen in total.  I tried some on, but there was no mirror available to offer me a look at what worked and what didn’t.  I’m kinda used to it, since those mirrors usually hit me around the top of my head, even when I stand on tiptoe.  I ended up going to the dressing rooms to take a look.

I put them on my face and looked in the mirror.  They seemed okay.  Done!  I went to the checkout line, along with a pair of jeans I rustled up along the way.  Jeans that are the right length and fit are rare in my book.  Except for the $100 pair I found at Buckle… and they’re still at Buckle.

I checked out and started stripping all the stickers off the glasses.  I couldn’t wait to put them on when I got outside.  Huh.  Funny.  There were two stickers in the middle of each lens of the sunglasses.  I tried to scrape them off with my fingernail. Wait.  Those weren’t stickers.  I bought bifocal sunglasses!  Horrors!

I had to laugh at myself.  No wonder the “stickers’ wouldn’t peel  off.  They were a permanent fixture on the lens.

Sigh.

I went back inside and waited in line again, this time at Customer Service.  I felt myself getting beet red as I told the nice young man behind the counter what I had done.  He thought it was hilarious.

“Sunglass readers”, he chortled as he read the receipt.  Awesome!

Yep.  I *am* blonde on the inside.

Blame it on the sunshine.

The song is just bonus.  Enjoy!

