Tags

, , , ,

lilies of the valley

Just a few updates…

Tomorrow, Ruby has her operation to insert ear tubes to drain the fluid behind her middle ear.  We’re hoping this will cure her hearing problems.  Prayers appreciated!

The school year is out in a month.  One month?!  Where did the time go?

Jonathon has another conference coming up at the end of this week.  On to Spokane and points east, by special request of his boss’ boss.  Hallelujah for favor!  Those judges like him.

Zac is at least 2 inches taller than me now.  Eek!

And as for me…well…I experienced the goodness of God in a way I never expected today.  I started out the morning feeling a bit sucker-punched and all out of heart.  I prayed a desperate prayer yesterday (and this morning) and today He answered.  Amazing!  Seriously, it was out of the blue.  It’s so like the Father to show up when I could do nothing myself to better the situation.

The Free Online Dictionary defines goodness this way:

good•ness
n.

1. the state or quality of being good.
2. moral excellence; virtue.
3. kindness; generosity.
4. the best or most valuable part of anything; essence.
5. a euphemism for God: Thank goodness!

I know for me, when things are tough for a long time, I lose sight of God’s goodness and His love for me.  All I can see is the forest, or the trees.  Or both.  I don’t see the flowers or hear the birds or notice the blue, blue sky.  Everything is in glorious, full bloom and I walk on by.  The beauty of creation is wasted on me.  It’s all I can do to keep moving forward.  His presence is not evident to me.  Yet His goodness remains.  He encompasses all of those definitions – kindness, generosity, and especially the most valuable part of this life.  O Lord, let me not forget anymore!

This verse in Psalm 27:13, written by David, sums it up:  Yet I am confident I will see the Lord’s goodness while I am here in the land of the living.

