God In Me

I’m certainly nothing like Mary Mary. I have yet to “write a check with a whole lot of zeros”.  Someday!

But you have to know anything good in me is from God.  Period. On my own, I jump to conclusions.  I make snap judgments.  I am stubborn.  I can be short-tempered, and not because of my physical height.  Yes, I have a good sense of humor, but I also mock. Certain seasons of my life, I made sarcasm a fine art in order to survive. I am selfish.  I can be prideful.  I covet. Insert your favorite vice here. And on and on.  Without Jesus, I will act on all these impulses – and more – continually, world without end.

I think some people who read this blog think I have it all together.  Not so, my friend.  I struggle just like everyone else.  The difference is I know I’m forgiven.  I ask for forgiveness when necessary and I extend it.  The hardest person to forgive is myself.  The Bible says if we don’t forgive others, God won’t forgive us.  This includes ourselves!

I want to live like Jesus and be mature and perfect, but I’m not there yet.  I wish I could “unsay” certain things and undo others.  I can’t.  I can only go on and trust in Romans 8:28:  And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.

I am learning in my advancing age (ha!) that everyone has something to teach us if we only pay attention.  I’m not always good at that, either.  I want to get on to the next thing and I miss the moment.  Call it the curse of the administrator.  I’m a work in progress.

All of this to say, be kind to yourself today.  Maybe you’ve done something recently you *really* wish you hadn’t.  Maybe you yelled at your kid for asking for a snack a mere 30 minutes after they ate breakfast.  Maybe you snapped at your spouse for something beyond their control.  No matter.  You can get and give forgiveness.  You can start over right now. If you know Jesus, you have only to ask.

Leave a Reply

