Friday Find

I haven’t written about my running in awhile, so I thought I’d update you.  This week, I tapered.  Not like this

tapered jeans

Tapering like this would take a  surgery or a funhouse mirror.  Much less invasive. As Jonathon would say to the girl (above):  “Eat a cheeseburger!”  Sheesh.

No.  I kept the running streak going, but cut the mileage back.  I ran either one or two miles a day. I will finish the week tomorrow with a 2-mile run. I got up to 17 miles  last week, but I didn’t want to hurt myself.  So, I scheduled a “cut-back” week.  I don’t have a race.  Yet.  Runners do that when they want to increase mileage but need their bodies to catch up.  At least, that’s what I’ve read.  I’m not so good at cutting back.  I did it, however.  I don’t want to get hurt again.  I want to continue to feel better and go farther. My progress has been slow, slow, slow.  At times it irks me.  Other times, I remember to be grateful I can run at all.

As you can see, this week’s theme, unbeknownst to me, has been grace.  Grace for others, grace for myself, grace in all circumstances. I’m afraid grace is not my natural bent. I am learning, in this school of life circumstances.  See?  Even confirmed perfectionists can reform!   I need to let my body rest and recharge in a sort of active recovery so I can push it harder next week.  I need to let the kids – and myself – transition to being school-free so we can find our next adventure.  I need to let our church make a transition in leadership and support the people continuing the work, as well as those who have gone on to do more, with kindness and grace.

There’s a dependence in grace, a surrendering of sorts.  It all leads back to God and what He has done, is doing, for us and in us.  If we truly believe Romans 8:28, we can rest in that.  We cannot earn grace; it’s a free gift.  It’s been given to us.  We can extend grace to others, where they are.  We can forbear where in the past we might have snapped and lacked compassion.  We can never truly know all that ails our fellow man (and woman), but we can give them grace.

2 thoughts on “Friday Find

Leave a Reply

