Tags

, , , ,

We had a great time away, but it’s so nice to be home.  We visited the beach, the Washington Park Rose Garden, downtown,  and a host of other things.  It was a great way to celebrate our anniversary.  Marvelous!

I scraped myself out of bed this morning – these 90-degree days are killer for us thick-blooded Northwest types – and got a run in early, before 6 a.m.  The sky was opalescent again, filled with lavender and blue clouds lit up by the rising sun.  The air was cool and a slight breeze refreshed me.  Gulls cried as they circled overhead.  I marveled at all the riot of summer flowers.  Roses, everywhere.  Petunias crowd our front planter boxes.  The my favorite stargazer lilies are finally, finally starting to bloom.

And this

ResizedImage_1372690777349

Happy birthday to me!  Yes, it’s my birthday.  I can’t thank Rex enough for this enormous mole.  Finally, fresh meat on the barbie.  Last year, he brought a live animal into the house.  I think I prefer this.

I find myself grateful to be alive.  No, I can’t recount any near-death experiences in my life.  I haven’t overcome cancer or survived a huge catastrophe.  But God has been so good.  I am healthy.  My parents are still alive and an active part of our lives and the lives of our children.  I am married to a wonderful man who lets me be myself.  Not every woman can say that.  I have two great kids who surprise me every day.  Who can count the embarrassing riches my friends represent?  You are amazing.  We are glad to be part of a loving church.  And the weather is sunny!  We live in a place with a lot of green and a lot of water, a constant feast for the eyes.

All of this to say that I am a very blessed woman.  As I age, I am thankful for each birthday that comes. God has been better to me than I deserve.  Hallelujah!

