Runner’s World Summer Streak

Yesterday, I finished a 39-day running streak.

https://i1.wp.com/pavementrunner.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/RWRUNSTREAKBADGE.jpg

I did it!  I managed to run at least 1 mile every day for 39 days straight.  I achieved perfect attendance.  Woo hoo!  My grand total was 84 miles, which averages out to just over 2 miles a day.  I think last time I did this, I ran over 100 miles.  But I am okay with this total.  My back has been cranky, my foot creaky.  Aging, be gone!

I got up this morning, a bit sleep-deprived from the neighbors’ generous sharing of their fireworks last night.

Got fireworks?

Got fireworks?

I felt a little strange, like I forgot something.  Don’t get me wrong.  The thought of running at all this morning made me get a little ornery.  You can’t make me!  Then I realized:  it was done.  I completed the challenge.  And I felt kind of bereft.  There’s a certain joy in discipline.  You don’t notice it when you’re in the middle of it, like flossing your teeth or an exercise regimen, but you miss it when it’s gone.  Well…maybe not flossing.  Who would miss that?!

Running and I will be back together again tomorrow.  We are still close friends.  But for a brief time, we were the closest of friends.  We had every day contact.  God met me while I was out pounding the pavement and sometimes the treadmill.  I actually looked forward to getting outside in the cool, overcast yet dry mornings.  Sometimes the sun even peeked through, always a welcome sight.

I encourage anyone who wants to to do the next one with me.  I’m not sure when the next one is.  But I’d love some company! It’s not about the mileage; it’s about doing it.   Changing your mind will change your life.

 

When I started running, I started dreaming. It couldn’t be helped. The mind works as hard as the body does during exercise. – Bart Yasso

Bart Yasso

Leave a Reply

