Every Day Joy

I had a serious case of the blahs today.  Cool, overcast morning filled with fragrant breezes.  Ho-hum.  A new day on the horizon with little planned in it.  Nifty.  I got up early to run but ended up falling back to sleep. Rex loved it, curled as a heavy half-moon on my stomach, but I felt like a bum.  D’oh!  I did get a run in.  I did very short out-and-backs with Ruby in a sort of extended relay.  I would return every 5 minutes, grab a drink and tag Ruby’s hand.  She sat in the carport like a boss, eating yogurt with blueberries and listening to music.

“Did you get a drink?” she would query, making sure I was on the righteous path.

Despite sweating profusely and doing more hills than I wanted to, I was still a little stern.

I was slated to watch my sister-in-law’s kids while she went to the dentist today.  So, all together that makes 6 kids.  Woo!  I love my nieces and nephews, but my attitude, based on my crabby kids and crabby me did not bode well for our sojourn.

The sky cleared off into a breezy, bright July day.  I watched Eliot and Isaac do laps around the table on the patio, Eliot on the “big boy bike”, Isaac puttering along Fred Flintsone-style on the Big Wheel.  Joy informed me she knows how to ride a bike now, after which she and I played tennis with a small Nerf soccer ball.  Grace and I talked Kit Kittredge as she listened to the audio book.  I helped Olivia get started on some glitter art.  And Eliot’s dinosaur costume was *right* in his bed, where he left it!

IMG_20130711_133622_593

At about noon, my brother came home for lunch.  We gnoshed bagel sandwiches in the sunny backyard, Isaac sneaking sips out of everyone’s cups.  Olivia demonstrated her fold-up sunglasses.  Grace tried on my shoes.  My brother and I discussed old friends and summers past.  Ruby’s stuffed mechanical dog was a huge hit.  It walks, it barks and sits!  Joy showed me the artichoke blossom, which I guess is what happens when you don’t pick the artichoke.

artichoke flower

I realized something.  I don’t want to waste a single day being grumpy. Something beautiful can come out of the thorniest things.  Oh sure, with 6 kids aged 10 and under in the same house, squabbles are inevitable.  But they don’t have to ruin your day.  I learned from these kids in a gorgeous afternoon.  You can teach an old dog new tricks!  It is possible to find joy every day.

IMG_20130711_124506_906

Leave a Reply

