Changing Gears

gears

I’m a morning person.  If it were up to me, I’d do all my main thinking/active duties before lunch.  Then lunch.  Then mandatory siesta.

What?  Not on board with that schedule?  Why not?  Are you a slacker?

Anyway, that being said, my schedule in the summer is more, uh, lax.  I simply can’t get things done in the timely manner I’d like to most days.  Kids and cats want breakfast.  Sometimes evil cats throw up on the carpet.  Ironing stacks up in the closet. Floors don’t vacuum themselves.  Husbands need to go to work.  Okay, only the *one* husband, cause that’s how I roll.  But it can make me grumpy.  Susan wants to be in control and have things go her way, every day.

But what if they don’t?

Do I recover?  Do I apologize for being a goober to my daughter, who wants a lazy day?  Or do I storm off to the store, asking my son to watch her while I speed-shop?  Uh.  Do I have to answer?

Yet I schedule playdates and movies and all kinds of things in the day so the kids and I can connect.  Those are important, too.  Right?

Sigh. Deep down, I’m back to trust.  I try to make blogging one of my daily priorities.  I somehow feel if I don’t get it in by a certain time of day – before 2:00 p.m. – it isn’t going to happen.  Inspiration can’t come to me once the sun has passed its zenith!  Hurry, hurry!

Kinda seems like a lack of faith there.  If I believe God has given me this gift, won’t he supply the necessary fuel to keep it going?  He is the one who made me.  He created all life.  Can I surrender to His timing and let it come?

In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you. ~Leo Tolstoy

If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. ~ Maya Angelou

If my writing is a God-given priority, then it stands to reason He will guide and provide.  As a friend said to me just this week, “Why do things have to be done at a certain time? You can still get it done.”  Why indeed.

And  God can turn those times of sweet fellowship with my friends into food for thought and my spirit.  I am reminded of people being most important to God.  Again.

I remember learning to drive a stick shift.  Trying to master the clutch and the shifting at the same time wore me out.  While driving my dad’s old blue Mazda station wagon, getting from first to second was a trick.  The switch from third to fourth gear clicked over with ease.  But only once I was up to speed.  I am getting there, day by day.

I want to sip all the sweet nectar of summer I possibly can.  I don’t want to miss a thing.  So here I am, standing on what I know of God’s goodness and mercy, and looking up.

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11:28

7 thoughts on “Changing Gears

  1. As always, I appreciate your honesty … My anxious heart needed those words of encouragement to go back to the cross and let faith rest in what is God’s. I’ve also been struggling with blog schedules, as I’m sure you’ve noticed. Such a delicate balance exists between commitment and compulsion — you can pray for dedication combined with faith for sure! Hope your day is peaceful, sweet, and blessed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

