Tags

, , ,

I meant to post this yesterday, but by the time I started writing it, my coherent thoughts had retired for the night.  Enjoy!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Today was a very long day in Wisconsin.  As I type this, the sun is slowly sinking below the earth’s rim.  The sky color ranges from gray-purple to palest pink to pale blue.  Neighborhood families, the first I’ve seen of them, relax outside.  Kids ride bikes.  Dogs inspect their environment while their owners chat.

We drive to Duluth tomorrow.  I’ve enjoyed our time here in Wisconsin.  What I didn’t know when we got here is how sprawled out everything is.  Actual conversation:

“Where is Columbus?”

“Oh, forty, forty-five minutes away.”

And so is *every* other town.  Nothing is in the same burg.  Sigh.  I like driving, but at this point my seat resembles a bucket.

The flip side is that Wisconsin has a lot of space to spread out.  People are used to this and drive on long, fast country highways.  We drove through a lot of green countryside and rolling hills.  The trees huddle together in packs, knowing they’re no match for all the surrounding prairie.  Sudden lakes dot the landscape.  Cranes, birds I’ve never seen up close, fly overhead in small groups.  Inspiring.

Wisconsin reminds me of a young girl.  The fresh, green dells and valleys seem filled with hope, anticipating the future. I can’t help but remember Laura Ingalls Wilder, trekking across the prairie with her family to set up a new home.  The verdant land seems a great place to grow children and dreams. Thanks, Wisconsin, and Jonathon’s extended family, for sharing yourself with me.

