Tags

, , , ,

Image by shutterstock.

Image by shutterstock.

I have written about this before, but today let’s take it a different direction.

Recently, a little game where folks share trivia about themselves has been making the rounds on Facebook.  Everything from “I have a birthmark” to “I once saw a flying saucer”.  Kinda fun.  But one of my pet peeves has yet to surface.

I have no desire to know your sexual preference*.  Period.  TMI.  For real.

I don’t drive around with a bumper sticker that says, “Heterosexual and Proud of It!”  Aren’t we the majority anyway? I don’t need to know you’re gay.  If you are, I will most likely pick up on it eventually without you having to tell me.  Because, truly, it’s none of my business.  People’s sexuality and identity make a up complicated brew.  I have no wish to debate the merits or drawbacks of same-sex relationships here.  All I know is:  I don’t want to know.

I realize we are in the age of full disclosure.  We know the true ages of actors and rock stars from the get-go.  We also comprehend, if we’re paying attention, the proliferation of facelifts and tummy tucks and, well, replacement parts.  The days of secrets are long gone. Covering up presidential indiscretions and hidden love children is no longer fashionable.  Call it the freedom of the press on overdrive, the curse of the internet.  Nobody escapes unscathed.  Everyone’s dirty laundry is fair game.  The more rich, powerful or famous you are, the more enticing the scandals are to the public appetite.

Photo courtesy of styleslum.com

Photo courtesy of styleslum.com

But where does it end?  In this era of equal-opportunity sharing, do I need to show everyone my C-section scar?  Does every man who has had prostate trouble feel the need to come clean about the whole ordeal?  Can I skip the mammogram/PAP smear story?  For my men friends, they would probably like me to skip the birth stories.  Just saying.  Can we please go back to a kinder, gentler time when people exercised discretion about what they shared with others?

Generally, I love to hear people’s stories.  And if you and I are good friends, I care about you.  I like knowing what’s going on in your life.  If you have sex life issues, please talk to a professional.  In the interest of full disclosure, I am not such a one.  Now you know.

I long for the day when people’s sexual practices – gay or straight – aren’t on display, front page news, every time I turn around.  But I am not sure I will live long enough for that to happen.

* This post does not reflect an actual conversation with any of my family, friends or acquaintances.  Peace!

