Water Sign

I went to pick up a friend today.  I drove out Highway 3 towards Allyn.  Along the drive, I noticed the frost coating all the trees and bushes.  They reminded me of sugary treats. The bay, on my right, appeared dark green with reflected fir trees.    The water had a little coating of ice forming on top of it.  Makes sense, as the temperature is still below freezing.  I don’t drive out that way very often and I’d forgotten how beautiful it is.

A couple of blue herons fished for their lunch as the tide ebbed away.  They stood, serene signposts, planted in the sand. The sun – working hard or hardly working – blazed behind a now-thick cloud cover.  The air, cold and camp, didn’t stir.  Peace on the water.  Peace in my heart.

There was an old song by Christopher Cross that came out in the 1980s.  Anyone remember this gem?

You loved this song!  Admit it.  Probably one of Mr. Cross’ few hits.  Since I was barely out of diapers when this came out (ahem), I can hardly be expected to remember the lyrics…

I was born in the sign of water
And it’s there that I feel my best
The albatross and the whale,
They are my brothers…

I think the water sign is Aquarius, if memory serves.  Not the “dawning of the age” or anything.  One of the Zodiac signs.  I don’t hold with astrology, and I’m not an Aquarius anyway.  Yet I understood what Chris was saying.  I love being around water.  Most of my happiest family memories involve being at the ocean or a lake or something.  I smiled to myself.

I am thankful for the reminder of the beauty all around me.  Different seasons of nature, as well as our own lives, have a beauty to them if we only take the time to see. It may look a little different this time of year, but it still remains.

One thought on “Water Sign

Leave a Reply

