Tags

, , , ,

december 26

It’s the day after Christmas
And all through the house
The whole family’s on electronics
Some using a mouse.

The boy on the  big monitor
Parents on their laptops,
Sitting across from Zac
Had just settled down for a long winter’s chat.

And that’s it.  I have nothing more to add to this rotten parody.  It became so bad, I abandoned it yesterday.  Now it’s December 27.

We had a wonderful Christmas, filled with family and food.  Not family *as* food.  Just clarifying.

I have neglected you exceedingly, blog readers.  Please forgive me.  I’ve felt like the bionic woman (sans good hair) since last Thursday.  I got rather exhausted. Today is the first day I have very little planned.  It feels like a selah.

    Wait patiently for the Lord.
    Be brave and courageous.
    Yes, wait patiently for the Lord. Psalm 27:14

Ruby is visiting her friends next door.  Zac plays computer games using his new 30″ monitor.  The cats doze and gaze intently out the windows.  It is quiet.  The furnace hums. All is contentment.

This Christmas season, I learned a few things.

1) Peppermint bark made with velvety, bittersweet chocolate is addictive.

2) People who work at Buckle could be my children, albeit very stylish children.

3) If I spend time drawing with Ruby, she will trump me.  For example, I drew a flower, an ocean and a castle.  What did she draw?  A griffin.  With eggs.  Hatching.  Yeah.

4) Giving really is better than receiving.  I had the best time figuring out what to do for people.  I can’t say I always nailed it, but I sure enjoyed thinking and planning to sweeten their lives a little.  Maybe I’m becoming more like my mom, the consummate gift-giver.  I sure hope so.

I do hope you had a merry Christmas.  Now, on to 2014!

