New Beginnings

These middle of the week holidays are killing me.  Two days of work, one day home.  Two more days of work.  Then the weekend.

Aw, who am I kidding?  I love it!  Makes more days feel like Fridays.  The brothers from next door hang out with Ruby, taking turns with a DS.  Zac sleeps as needed, which appears to be like our cats.  Jonathon watches the Rose Bowl from our purple couch.  It’s Michigan State vs. Stanford.  Go Spartans!

What a magical holiday season.  I am sad to see it go.  Over the next few days, we will start packing up the holiday tchotchkes and decorations.  Reluctantly, but alertly, we will put Christmas to bed.  We will – a skeleton crew of us – pluck ornaments from the bedazzled tree and denude it of its finery.  I get a little misty just thinking about it.  Hey, it’s a lot of work.

But in honor of the new year, I have set some goals.  Made some resolutions.  Drawn a line in the sand.

1) I want to race again this year.  I want to run a smattering of 5ks, 10ks and at least one half marathon.

1) For the month of January, I want to run/workout every day and blog every day.  Woo!  Can I do it?  Who knows?  I must try.  I even entered Janathon, seen on Fit for 365‘s blog. So I’ll be talking about my workouts, too.  Maybe you’ll be encouraged to get physical as well. Like today, I ran a mile and did about 25 minutes of kettlebells.  It was a good workout, too. I feel my legs squawking already.

Janathon participant logo

Yes, I know I put two #1s.  Just seeing if you’re paying attention.

I hesitate to put more out there.  I will press on.

2) I want to get published and get paid for what I write.  I don’t mind writing for church when asked.  Actually, it’s a great honor.  I am glad to do it.  I’m talking about writing for magazines or online publishing, even self-publishing.  I’m in.  I need to find time to create or compile.  Something.

3) This is the toughest one.  I’ve written this before, but I need to stay on top of my thoughts.  I must change my limiting thinking about depressing circumstances and situations.  I need to move from negative to positive.  Which means, most likely, more time in the Bible. I need more Jesus, people.  I need to be praying more and worshiping more.  Every time I open the book, I want to see it with fresh eyes.  I want to glean more understanding and wisdom. It’s a living document.  I expect it to change me from the inside out.  Truly, I need it to.

I have a few others which I will tackle offline.  They’re a bit nebulous right now, anyway.  I’m not sure how to go about accomplishing them.  Yet.

I am filled with excitement for this new year.  I’m ready to let 2013 lie.  I love the blank slate of a new year.  Let’s go, 2014!

3 thoughts on “New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

