Tags

, , ,

the-hobbit-the-desolation-of-smaug-CD

In the ongoing spirit of Janathon, I ran four miles today.  My legs creakily protested after what apparently were too many squats and lunges yesterday. They did not like me much and did not mince words about it.  I considered doing the miles on the treadmill. We have had such a dry fall and now winter,though, I needed to run outside.  Who knows how long this  weather will last? Those of you from the PacNW know what I’m talking about.  All too many days it’s raining and raining and raining.  A dry day is a good day, even if it’s cold, damp and foggy.  Which it was.

We took Zac to see The Hobbit:  The Desolation of Smaug last night.  If you want the skinny, you can read my friend Brian’s review, which is much more detailed.  I thought it was… okay.  Oh yes, the cinematography was amazing.  I always enjoy the fleshing out of different human cities and their culture.  Some familiar faces from the Lord of the Rings reappeared, Legolas among them.  Elf power!  I guess I got a little frustrated that they managed to stretch this itty bitty book into three movies. Hey, another trilogy!  Someone must’ve thought we needed another one.  A matched set to go along with the Lord of the Rings series. Good things come in threes, right? It seemed greedy and reaching to me, pure and simple. And is it bad that I liked Smaug the dragon the best?  Probably now I’m going straight to hell.

When we got to the theater, there was a lady in her 60s with a handful of men who were developmentally challenged.  They took awhile to decide on concessions.  They dithered.  They dallied.  They loitered.  I shuffled my feet, getting a little impatient. While we waited in the short line, one man wandered over to me.  An elderly man, rotund with a ball cap and glasses, addressed me.

“Hey, how are you doing?” he asked.  His face beamed with enthusiasm.  I loved him on sight.

“I’m great.  And you?” I replied.

“I’m doing great, too!  Which movie are you going to see?” he asked, listing a bit from side to side.

“The Hobbit,” I said.

“Me too!” he said, his eyes lit up.  “We’re going in there!” He pointed to the door on our left.

“Yep,” I said, smiling.

That, folks, was the highlight of the movie.  Other than the time spent with my two guys, that is.  Enthusiasm (when genuine) is catching.  Thanks, Lord, for the reminder.

