Tags

, , , , ,

Day 6 of Janathon.  I did some kettlebell intervals and ran a quick, brisk mile outside.  The velvety dark consumed all but a few pinpoint stars.

We live a few blocks from the courthouse.  As I ran past it, I watched a couple of prison buses circle the adjacent jail and prepare to drop off their dangerous cargo.  I skirted those buildings. Better safe than sorry.  I found streets with enough light, then chug-chug back home. Brr!

Today, Zac needed to finish up his online P.E. class. In order to do that, he had to run the mile again.  He ran it at the beginning of the school year as part of the pre-assessment. Since the post-assessment is due Friday, he wanted to show improvement. I suggested we do it this morning.  Tomorrow (and the next day, and the next) call for rain.  Simply rain.  If you’re a newbie runner, you don’t want to run in the rain, and especially not for a test.

We took Ruby to her school, which is next to the field.  She and I cheered Zac on as he headed out for his first lap.  Pretty fast.  The second lap came in a little slower.

“I think I need to go in now,” Ruby told me.  So I walked her to the cafeteria, where the kids are held hostage remain until school starts, if they happen to arrive before the first bell.  I told her how much I enjoyed spending time with her and reminded her of the best parts of vacation.

“You got to hang out with your friends, sing in the Christmas program.  You even chased chickens!”

Ruby looked at me and shook her head. “We can’t chase chickens anymore. ”

Bummer.  One of life’s little joys, gone!

She looked wistful but entered the building anyway.

Zac finished, a few seconds faster than his mile in September.

“My legs are burning.  My ears ache.  My head hurts.  If I ran any faster, my heart would have exploded.  Literally,” Zac said, panting.

Yeah.  If you sit on your duff for 3 months, you can’t go out and run and expect to do better.  End of mom lecture. I got him home quickly and into a hot shower.

I, to, am a little sad to see the end of vacation. It’s also Epiphany, the last day of the 12 days of Christmas.  The celebration of Epiphany commemorates the incarnation of Jesus for us westerners.  I like the reminder in the middle of winter, Christmas gone and Lent a month away.  The land lies hard and dead, unresponsive to the sun’s puny rays. Christmas and all its finery got returned to basement storage.

Zac and I will rediscover our rhythm.  Jonathon going to work and Ruby to school should become the norm again with little interruption.  Time to look forward, Christ in our hearts in the coldest days of the year.

Couldn’t resist the above song, guys.  Apologies to my old college suitemates and roommates.  I listen to other music now.  Honestly!

