Passion

passionCan you really bottle it?

I’ve been pondering passion lately.  As part of a recent skin care purchase, I got a perfume sample.  It’s a glass tube with a roll-on applicator.  As I opened the slender crimson box labeled “Passion”, I thought, Ooh!  Passion.  Exciting!  I held the ombre-colored bottle, fading from faintest amber to maroon.  I removed the metallic top and rolled it on my wrists and dotted it on my neck.  It smelled wonderful, with a sort of musky, powdery scent. “Express you inner passion with this bold statement of sparkling star fruit, sensual jasmine and alluring vanilla bourbon and creamy musk” says the box. Behold, the essence of passion. Sounds delicious.  Can I get whipped cream on that?

The word passion conjures up various images.  Most of them have been hijacked by the media – sex, lust, heat, etc. The sexual element is a possible subset of passion.  Passion, in fact, is a stand-alone word.  It needs no filler or qualifiers.

Pas·sion: 1 – strong and barely controllable emotion. 2 – the suffering and death of Jesus.

For my blog today, I’d like to focus on the first definition.  What does it mean to have passion?  Some synonyms are ardor, passion, zeal, enthusiasm.

Passion drives us to become better people.  Passion gets us up in the morning to serve those we love. We would do anything for our family.  Passion enables us commit to one person for the rest of our lives. We place our spouse’s needs before our own. Passion causes us to birth babies.  Not the creating of babies, but getting through the birth.  We long to see the little one’s face.  Passion drove Rex to battle Rita.  Of course, he paid for it with a few bites and scratches, but he’s recovering.

You might be saying it sounds an awful lot like love.   I don’t think you can be passionate about anything or anyone without loving it, at least a little.

Psalm 69:9 – Passion for your house has consumed me, and the insults of those who insult you have fallen on me.

I’m realizing I need more passion for the things God has put in front of me.  How do I express my passion?  I don’t need a fragrance, I need actions. I need creative ways to pour out my passion for God, my family and friends.  I don’t want to be uncontrollable.  I do want to be deliberate yet zealous.  Can passion be disciplined?  I wonder.

For Janathon today, due to time constraints of getting to church by 7:30 a.m. and very tight hamstrings, I did a lengthy set of stretches.  I truly needed more rest.  Late in the day, I found  another break in the floodwaters and walked outside for 20 minutes.  Fresh air, gusty winds and downed limbs.  Doesn’t get much better than that!

Leave a Reply

