The Cost of Change

spare change

Today is day 22 of Janathon.  Kettlebells class.  We did 5 minutes on the bike alternating with 5 minutes of kettlebells.  Finally, finally, I got a bike that didn’t hurt me or try to pitch me off.  It was kinda…fun.  Don’t tell anyone.

One of my classmates has lost more than 20 lbs since December.

“I’m 3 lbs from my goal weight”, she panted as we pushed ourselves on our bikes that went nowhere.  “I gotta keep working.”  She pedaled with determination.

Change costs us.

She mentioned she’d watched “The Biggest Loser” the other night.  After several weeks of blood, sweat, tears and probably vomit, the contestants get makeovers.  They get new, smaller clothes in the latest styles.  They get hairstyles and clean shaves (if male).  Somebody revamps their makeup, too (if female), and paints their nails.  They look mahvelous when it’s all over.  It’s one of my favorite episodes if I happen to be watching the current series, which I’m not this year.

“You have to start thinking differently about yourself.  Getting  a makeover facilitates that.  You can see you’re not who you were.  You aren’t fat anymore. You’re a new person. You have new clothes, new hair and everything to prove it,” I said.

She nodded her head, ponytail bobbing.

“Yeah, this time the coaches, makeup artists and everyone really focused on that:  you’re no longer who you were.  See the change and embrace it.”

Yes!  Embrace it.  It’s real.  You put in the work.  You did it.  Enjoy it.

I’ve been trying some new things lately, mostly in my diet.  More on that in a few days.  But what I’m discovering is something I’ve written about before.  There is pain in becoming.  Giving up something to gain something else means the something you know must be laid down.  Oh, how the familiar tugs on us!  It whines at us.  It calls, “Come back, darling!  I miss you!  Don’t you miss me, too?  Weren’t we good together?” We hear the whimpering of the scorned lover habit no matter where we go.

It takes time to change our old ways.  I’ve heard it takes 3 weeks at the very least to implement a new behavior.  We need to think differently about what we used to do.  We remind ourselves that the new way will be healthier for us, emotionally, physically, spiritually.  Well, I’m on my way.  I’m doing something physical every day and have so far this month.  How about you?  What are you after?  Now is the time. Heck, it’s still January! You are worth it.  Make the change.

Leave a Reply

