Tags

, , , ,

Not happening yet, but soon.

Not happening yet, but soon.

It was 25 degrees when I headed out to run today.   A ghostly crescent moon hung in the faded blue January sky.   The sun, eternal  optimist, shone down on the white grass and bushes, desperate to restore them to their glorious green.  The telephone poles dripped as the sun’s warmth melted their icy shells.

I ran a five-mile loop.  The chilly air froze my ears and thumbs. Friends, I did not have turbo legs this morning.  Fine with me.  I made my mileage goal for the week which was 17 miles.  I’m trying to increase slowly so as to avoid injury.  Janathon rocks!

As I plodded along, I pondered death.  January is the heart of winter, the death-like slumber of the natural world. Everything goes dormant, waiting to awake to spring’s warmth.

We’ve heard of so many deaths around us in the last couple of weeks.  Friends of friends, close family of friends, and all of them sudden.  It makes life seem pointless.  What’s it all about?  We’re born, we live and experience a few ups and downs, then we’re gone, like the grass of the field.

All I can say is there’s more to this life, and even more after this life.

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love.  No power in the sky above or in the earth bellow – indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord. – Romans 8:38-39

Though it seems winter will never end, with its relentless cold and inhospitable ground, January makes us look ahead to springtime of this earth and the rebirth of new life. In the winter of our souls, we groan in our spirits to reunite with our missing family and friends.  The great thing about our physical death is that if we’re in Christ, we will rise again.  Separation is temporary. We will live with Him forever in our heavenly bodies.  If our friends and family were believers, we will see them again when we shuffle off this mortal coil.  We look forward to the springtime of our souls, basking in the warmth of God’s love for all eternity.

