Pet Phrases

I am fond of pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals. – Winston Churchill

Okay, be forewarned:  this is a bit of a rant.  I have been thinking about this today, based on an old professor’s Facebook post.  I have some phrases that hit me wrong again and again.  I’m not even going to touch Christian catchphrases.  Whole other blog.  Here, in no apparent order, I list a few of them.  I’d rather write about pets, so I threw in a few quotes today, too.  Pets never say ridiculous things and they love unconditionally (mostly).

At the end of the day.  I had a boss who said this over and over in our two-hour weekly staff meetings.  One time, I kept track of how many times he intoned it.  Seven times.  Seven!  Ugh.  It didn’t improve upon repetition.

The average dog is a nicer person than the average person.Andy Rooney

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.  Wrong!  Kelly Clarkson aside, it’s a stupid thing to say.  I’ve blogged about the fallacious statement before.  Just consider the source.The dog is the god of frolic.Henry Ward BeecherIrregardless.  Simply put, this isn’t a word.  Cross it off your vocab list.

I poured spot remover on my dog. Now he’s gone.Steven Wright

I’m just looking out for #1.  Is there a more selfish phrase in the English language?  Oh yes there is…

I did it my way.  I wrote about this, too.  Frankie (Sinatra) baby, doing things your way usually means stuff goes horribly wrong.

A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than you love yourself. – Josh Billings

We have to evangelize around this…I’ve heard this used in a marketing sense, not a church setting.  I don’t like it outside a church setting.  Too weird for me.  I think about discipleship and Bible study as follow-ups, not purchasing a product.

Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.Robert A. Heinlein

I’m stepping outside my comfort zone.  I’ve used it.  If you think about it, anything outside the womb is outside our original comfort zone, right?  Drop it like a hot rock.

What counts is not necessarily the size of the dog in the fight – it’s the size of the fight in the dog.Dwight D. Eisenhower

There you have it, folks.  I’m sure I’ve missed a few.  What are your least favorite phrases?
One thought on “Pet Phrases

Leave a Reply

