Coffee Perk

I ran outside in the drizzle, two damp miles.  I’m going to make this a cutback week.  I reached a mileage goal last week and my legs let me know:  “Enough!”  I plan to spend this week doing a lot of stretching after each run and fine-tuning my diet a bit.  More on that later.

We’re back to steady rain.  Yesterday’s is a good memory, smallish piles of it plowed into corners of parking lots and streets.  Church shrank to one service yesterday due to inclement weather. Several families couldn’t make it out of their driveways.  We have a few micro climates up here.  Our house sits at 23′ above sea level.  We get the least amount of snow, generally.  Hoodsport, Union and out that direction get twice as much, if not more, than we do.  It’s crazy.

I’ve been twitted for not writing about coffee much lately, which is in my blog’s tagline.  Apologies.  Which brings me to today’s topic. Say hello to my favorite kitchen appliance, Mr. Coffee.  Isn’t he a handsome devil?

However.  Despite Mister’s best efforts, I can’t seem to wake up today. I want to curl up with my good book and drink coffee all day.  In fact, I have a partial cup I’m nursing now.  I hope I don’t regret this at 2:00 a.m. when my brain is doing a whirling dervish impression.  My eyes sit at half-mast, my brain on low.  Coffee, why hast thou forsaken me?  Why don’t you rouse my sleeping synapses?  At least I’m not in TMI danger today.  Little to no human contact, thankyouverymuch.

Coffee, mysterious
Import from tropical lands
Banishing brain fog.

Wikipedia says:  Coffee is slightly acidic (pH 5.0–5.1) and can have a stimulating effect on humans because of its caffeine content. It is one of the most popular drinks in the world. It can be prepared and presented in a variety of ways. The effect of coffee on human health has been a subject of many studies; however, results have varied in terms of coffee’s relative benefit.The majority of recent research suggests that moderate coffee consumption is benign or mildly beneficial in healthy adults. However, coffee can worsen the symptoms of conditions such as anxiety, largely due to the caffeine and diterpenes it contains.

Well, I have no idea what diterpenes are but they sound like ancient Greeks to me.  Didn’t Diterpenes write The Iliad?

Raise your hand if you’re glad coffee is a legal substance.  Caffeine is a beautiful thing.

Later on, I had a revelation.  The rain ebbed and flowed. As I drove home from shopping, I saw the trees drip.  I passed the towering Douglas firs, standing tall and silent in the misty wet.  I smiled. The weather differs somewhat every day.  Shouldn’t I give myself the same freedom? This is home.  I will survive.  I can put up with a little temporary brain fog.  I will leave the calculus equations to others.  To quote Scarlett O’Hara, “Tomorrow is another day.”

Leave a Reply

