Tags

, , ,

Happy Valentine's Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Ruby and I worked on putting together her valentines today.  Lacking Powerpuff Girls themed cards, I opted for hologram-type dog and cat cards.  Each card, printed on laminated card stock, took some doing to separate from the others.

Then, the list.

Ruby’s class contains 24 kids.  The balance of kids are of HIspanic descent and have names like Pablo Morales Melendez, keeping both the mother’s maiden name and the father’s last name.  Makes for a rather unwieldy name sometimes, but traditional.

We took turns writing the kids’ names on the cards.  Ruby didn’t much care who got the “Top Dog” one or the “You’re Golden” one with a golden retriever smiling into the sun on the front.  I glanced through the list.  Then I sighed.  Lessly?  Jeysen?  Crystina?  I truly hoped the teachers had typed the names correctly.  You can’t make this stuff up.

“I saw lice on Jenny’s* hair yesterday,” Ruby told me as we finished.

Uh-oh.  The school had a big lice epidemic in the fall which we managed to dodge.

“Oh? What did you tell Jenny?”  Likely, Jenny had no clue.

“She said, ‘No, I don’t!'”  Ruby looked serious.

“Did you tell the teacher?” I asked.

Ruby shook her head.  “No.”

I told Ruby she needed to, not to rat Jenny out, but to prevent lice spreading to the other kids in the class.  Stricken at the possibility, she took it to heart.

“They’re difficult to get rid of,” I said.

“Yeah.  You can use mayonnaise…”Ruby informed me.

“Or olive oil…”I followed up.  “You also need to wash bedding and get everyone in the house doused, too.”

“Or you can comb the hair reeeally carefully…” Ruby demonstrated by pulling her hair forward in small chunks.

If only they had a card for this. “Nice weather we’re having.  And oh, by the way…”

Not like this…

More like this:

(Photo from roanoke.com)

Ruby might have given Jenny the “You’re Golden” card instead.

This public service brought to you today by Jenny.  No actual lice were seen, grossly misrepresented or dissected for this message.

* Name changed to protect the infested.

