A Little More

Photo from babytoddlerkidssite.com

Photo from babytoddlerkidssite.com

The old man snores up a storm here.  It’s pouring.  But after yesterday’s trip to Seattle and all the sitting that entailed, I needed to run.  Outside.  I ran on the treadmill yesterday and that went okay.  I spent the early morning wandering around restlessly. I needed to get out and have recess now.

My mom said, “You’re going up to the gym?”

“No,” I said.

She looked incredulous.

“I need to play outside.”  I couldn’t help smiling.

Temps hovered in the forties.  The rain wasn’t too terrible, I thought.  My feet and face got a little wet.  My core stayed dry.

I hit the hill.  Running outside after breakfast and coffee rocks!   I remembered this quote:

“When it’s pouring rain and you’re bowling along through the wet, there’s satisfaction knowing you’re out there and others aren’t.” – Peter Snell

The way back  – the 2-mile stretch – of the out-and-back felt different.  This time, the rain hit my face, buoyed on the wind.  My shoes got soaked.  Less exhilarating. Slower going, despite the downward incline.

But I did it.  Four miles.  In my shoes. In this body, with all its imperfections and shortcomings.  In the relentless rain.

I want more.  By God’s grace, I will do more.

I have no complaints, only praise.

One thought on “A Little More

Leave a Reply

