Borrowed Breaths

This song didn’t make me think until the chorus:

It’s Your breath in our lungs…

It hit me between the eyes.  I had to laugh.  Of course!  All of our breaths are borrowed.  All of them.  We’re living on borrowed breaths.  Some of them are great gulps of air, like while I’m running.  Some are unknowable, lost in deep sleep.  Some breaths come shallow, weighted down with anxiety or excitement.

I remember the Genesis account.   When no bush of the field was yet in the land and no small plant of the field had yet sprung up—for the Lord God had not caused it to rain on the land, and there was no man to work the ground, and a mist was going up from the land and was watering the whole face of the ground— then the Lord God formed the man of dust from the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living creature. – Genesis 2:5-7

So we pour out our praise, pour out our praise…

In light of this, it’s sort of ridiculous to think we could ever truly be independent.  It’s like an ant saying, “I’m going off on my own now.  I don’t need to hang with the horde.  I’ll dig my own tunnels and forage for myself.”  You just know he’s gonna get picked off by the next bird.  Or think of your own kid thinking he’ll be better off on his own, though he can’t drive or hold a job or even shave yet.

It’s Your breath in our lungs…

God doesn’t need us.  I mean, look at the verse above.  He had mist to water the land He made.  He didn’t need Adam and Eve mucking up the future garden.  God could’ve taken care of all of it on His own.  But He allowed us to be involved, to have free will, choice, to have life.  We need *Him*. He holds the hourglass of our life.  One day, life-sands done flowing, we can be with Him forever. He gave us breath and everything we have.  It’s nothing short of amazing, and humbling, too.

So we pour out our praise to You only…

Leave a Reply

