Tags

, , , ,

These didn't make the cut.  Photo by mybargainbuddy.com

These didn’t make the cut, surprisingly.

“Whatcha doing?” Ruby asked me.

I sat at my computer perusing a  new website.  Lay’s Potato Chips set up a contest where you could create a new potato chip flavor and win $1 million. I spotted it on the back of a bag of kettle chips. It sounded like fun, and the money wouldn’t hurt either.

Note:  this are proprietary!  Don’t copy me, uh, us.  Open to U.S. residents only.

I entered Thai Ginger Basil, some of my favorite combinations of flavors.  Then to be goofy, Banana Mocha.  I mean, who needs a protein shake?!

“I want to do one!” Ruby said, getting excited.

So she sat on my lap and dreamed up a few of her own.

“What about meatball?” she asked.

What, indeed.

Meat Medley, featuring meatball, bacon and sauce, was born.

“Sour butter?”

Uh…no.

Sour Butter became Sour Cream Taco.  Ah, much better.  Ruby painstakingly maneuvered around my laptop to type it in herself.

“I know!  Sundae flavor!” Ruby exclaimed.

Sundae Chip featured chocolate ice cream, whipped cream and a cherry.  I’d gnosh that!

She went on and on, with flavors pouring out of her in a river.  Chicken Enchilada.  S’mores. Spicy Veggie.  She truly had no limits.  She flowed.

“Hey, Zac, ” I called.  “Wanna make up a potato chip?”

Zac, getting into the spirit of it all, came up with his own idea.

“Bacon.”

“How about…bacon cheddar swiss?” I prompted.

“No,” replied the purist.  “Just bacon.”

Bacon it is.

Which got me going – Gingersnap, Bacon Guacamole, Grilled Cheese & Tomato Soup, Italian Herb.  Why not?  And that’s the spirit of creativity:  why not?

I found out later that since I put the kids names and actual birth dates in the entry form, they might get disqualified for being underage.  I hope not. Their ideas could change the world, one nibble at a time.

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams. – Eleanor Roosevelt
