Tags

, , , ,

I spent a good morning with the kettlebell crew.  Our instructor left me in charge today.  Bwahaha!  We completed a furnace workout, three and a half circuits.  That’s twenty seconds on, ten seconds off.  We did each exercise twice. The monthly challenge was on the table but I chose not to take it up.  It’ll keep. I almost made myself sick today. Darned jump squats! Good times.  I figured I’d better dial it back a bit.  Everyone survived, even the guys who’d been gone for a year.

It’s raining off and on today.  And it’s raining off and on in my life.  In the last couple of weeks, I’ve heard from several friends with huge transitions and challenges in front of them.  I find myself praying a lot, lifting up their burdens to the only wise God.  I’ve had a few hurdles of my own to navigate as well.  It’s so easy to spiral down into despair when  horrible things happen.  We feel so powerless.  We see our controlled, scripted life, so very carefully planned, go up in smoke.  Poof! Now what?

Which begs the question:  Where is God when the bottom drops out?  Does he switch His answering machine on – “Leave a message at the beep and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can”?

No. The Bible holds great comfort for those who hurt.

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted (Ps. 34:8).  Psalm 55:22 says:  Give your burdens to the LORD, and he will take care of you. He will not permit the godly to slip and fall. And for those who remember scripture songs, Psalm 46:1:  God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble.  Now you have the song stuck in your head, dontcha? One more:  The unfailing love of the LORD never ends! By his mercies we have been kept from complete destruction. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each day Lamentations 3:22.

There are no guarantees, as the song above says.  Bad things happen. In fact, Jesus promised it (John 16:33).  He also said He had overcome the world.  His love and mercy remain.  May they anchor your soul today.

 

