Everything is Awesome

We just saw the new Lego movie.  That, it seems, is the name of the theme song.

I won’t give the plot away, but there’s  great emphasis on teamwork.  It’s easy to forget the importance of working together when our culture encourages so much individualism.  Pursuing a goal with a group of like-minded people can yield great results.  The other part of the beginning of the movie trumpets the merits of following instructions.  I like both of those things.

But…not everything *is* awesome.  Some things and experiences definitely aren’t.  Poking a hole through one of the pair of your favorite space alien socks  is a downer.  Plunging your unassuming, bare foot  into cat poop – or dog poop – is disgusting.  A friend’s betrayal stings.  And lastly, death sucks.

Not all instructions help us.  We get poor advice all the time, framed as instruction.  “Look out for number 1!”  My personal favorites revolve around people telling me what I can and can’t do, or, even better, who I truly am.  “You’ll never be a powerful singer.  You have such a soft, feminine voice.”  Meant as a compliment, I’m sure.  “You’re not really creative.  You just follow the notes on the page.”  So give up already!  Go with the strengths I’ve identified for you, okay?  I know you better than you know yourself.

None of those things informed me.  They only told me where the other person’s prejudices resided. I hold no resentment against these people.  Sometimes, our hearts and our mouths experience a vast disconnect.

When the “unawesome” happens, what do we do?  Who has the answers for us?  God does.  His instruction manual, full of grace, mercy and truth, tells me I’m more than a conqueror.  The infallible word of God says I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength (Phil 4:13).  The hands of the diligent will rule (Proverbs).  There is no longer Jew or Gentile, slave or free, male and female. For you are all one in Christ Jesus. – Galatians 3:28.  We counteract the flawed instruction/advice with the truth.

Even more, I can let these folks out of their virtual prison for the harmful things they said and did.  The Bible is also very clear on this:  But if you refuse to forgive others, your Father will not forgive your sins. – Matthew 6:15.

We must embrace God’s love for us.  We are all special with unique qualities to offer this world.  We can join together to serve Jesus, knowing our place in Him.  We don’t need to jockey for position or recognition. We can be ourselves and combine our strengths together to create synergy.  Together, we can do amazing things.

Good instruction plus teamwork? Truly awesome!

One thought on “Everything is Awesome

  1. I don’t know that I could have sat through a Lego movie. I’m impressed. I like your part on forgiveness. I have been building a resentment that I need to let go of.

    Like

Leave a Reply

