Tags

, , , ,

IMG_20140611_124131_842

Out of nowhere, our Amaryllis plant is starting to shoot up.

“Well, sure.  It’s a bulb, Susan.  It can lie dormant for months, needing no care at all,” said my horticultural-minded friend.

I knew that.

But I’d forgotten.  See, I’m not a plant person, as I’ve written about before.  Plants and I don’t go way back.  Plants come to my house to die.  End of story.  Cactus, Ficus, makes no nevermind to me.  I’ll either over-water or under-water you, green thingy.

I had some success with African violets long ago.  My mom coached me. “Water them from the bottom and pull off the dead blossoms,” she told me.  So I did.  Until I didn’t anymore.  I got busy.  I forgot.  The cats nibbled the flowers.  Whatever. Poor little violets got root-bound and shriveled up.

I’d completely forgotten about this plant.  It sits in the living room as a semi-green sculptural element.  I haven’t watered it since January or February.  All of a sudden, it started growing again. Taking my cue from the new green shoots, I watered it.  That makes twice now. Go, me!

It feels like a gift.  I did nothing overt to instigate new life in this bulb. The position it holds helps it collect indirect sunlight.  The cats leave it unmolested. Ruby lost interest awhile ago, moving on to shiny rocks and such.

I don’t deserve what I’m reaping.

Ever felt like that?  I know I’m talking about a plant in my living room.  But it applies to our lives as well.  I’ve gotten job offers based solely on contacts I have.  I didn’t actively cultivate relationships in order to score anything. I hold no certification for kettlebells yet I’ve taught it several times. I’ve been there for most classes over a period of 4 years.

I think a certain amount of faithfulness and consistency bring a harvest.  As Woody Allen once said, “Showing up is 80% of life.” That’s a pretty big chunk.  Creating connections with people benefits everyone. Clocking in at your job and doing your best every day counts.  Caring for your family in as small a way as matching up socks matters.  Little things done regularly establish trust. May I show up more and more, as a foundation to build upon.

“If you are faithful in little things, you will be faithful in large ones. But if you are dishonest in little things, you won’t be honest with greater responsibilities. – Luke 16:10

 

 

 

