Tags

, , , , ,

Photo from mashable.com

Photo from mashable.com

Last week and this week contain a lot of firsts.

In the blink of an eye, Zac finished 9th grade.  He never had to leave the house. Tomorrow, Ruby completes second grade.  What?!

Last Thursday, I received a loaned book in the mail.  Scrolling through my Facebook email, we communicated about it last in 2009. The gal had it in her possession for at least 12 years.  Woot!

I found ripe strawberries outside in our crop.  And I ate them. I also bought a 1/2 flat from Spooner Farms.  I made strawberry cream cheese cobbler. Can summer be far behind?

My mom moves up from Portland – permanently – on Saturday.  She’ll live just over a mile away, instead of 130. Looking forward to it. Free babysitting!

I encouraged the kids to think of doing one nice thing for someone, every day.  Not just so I’d reap the benefits.  So far, it’s been great.  Sharing, helping…here’s hoping it extends into cleaning.

Jonathon flew to Wisconsin last week to be with his mom during a critical time.  I was home alone with the kids for 5 nights and 6 days, the longest ever.  I did it!  The Lord helped me organize my thinking, increased my patience and sense of humor.  Treats from Dairy Queen facilitated matters, too.

I ran 10 of last week’s miles before breakfast.  Boy, did I sleep well.

Zac kindly walked Ruby to school Wednesday morning so I could go to kettlebells class. Both made it back alive.

Today, I bumped into a young lady who used to attend our church. She’s getting married in 6 weeks.  Pulling out her phone, she showed me a photo of herself in the dress, all grown up and lovely in white lace.

Each day is full of potential surprises. New beginnings sprout around us everywhere. What about you?  What have you been up to?

 

 

 

