Wednesday Wings

summer-31

I taught kettlebells class again today.  The teacher had an emergency she needed to deal with. I had a small class today, just me and a good friend of mine.  It gave us a chance to catch up while we sweated.

My mom moved up  to Shelton over the weekend.  So glad to have her local now, instead of all the way down in Portland.  Owner of two cats, she and I are kindred pet lovers. She transported her fat ginger tabby up here.  Once placed in the house, he promptly stepped into the great unknown and disappeared into the brush behind her house.  Hasn’t been seen since.  Only the local deer know his whereabouts. The other kitty, a sweet boy, ran away during the moving process.  She drove down yesterday to retrieve him but no luck.

“Hey, I think it’s a sign!” I said.

No response, just “the Mom look”. I guess she didn’t appreciate my interpretation.

Ruby spent time with Mom this week, helping her unpack and doing art projects over there.  Ruby’s got a jolly spirit.  She livens things up when she’s around. She might not actually *do* much, but you’re glad she’s there. Hence her many friends.

Zac watched Ruby for me a ton the past 2 weeks.  He’s continuing to grow in maturity and understanding every day, learning how to apply kindness to other humans. This includes his little sister. He racked up $90 of babysitting, including allowance.  He got to upgrade his video game with money to spare.

My job at the city goes well.  I spent several hours reviewing the SEPA files, intending to start the archiving process.  Some of it I found tedious.  But as I read and purged duplicate documents, I uncovered a history of Shelton I never knew before.  Someone donated 38,000 acres to the city to put in the huge Walmart complex.  Another firm built the strip mall in the late 1990s.  My chiropractor built his office in 2003.  I saw the report on building the new middle school. In my mind’s eye, I can see the city’s businesses and residences coming together on a timeline.  Very cool.  It makes me like living here even more.

Last but not least, I love summer. I don’t think I can say it enough.  Shorts every day, baby!  Sunshine and blue skies. Fresh berries. Running outside whenever I can, the flowers perfuming the air, a nice breeze blowing.  Doesn’t get much better than that.

How’s your summer shaping up?

 

 

Leave a Reply

