Never Alone

Hebrews 4:16:  So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God.  There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.

Ruby attends VBS the rest of this week.  For those of you not in the know, it’s Vacation Bible School.  A wonderful local church puts on a program to host local grade school age kids  every summer for about a week.  It’s free (donations gladly accepted), fun and educational. They even feed the kids. Ruby made amazing crafts last year, folding cardboard birds and all kinds of things, plus she got a t-shirt. 

“Ruby, tomorrow you’re going to VBS!” I told her yesterday. Giving her a choice of late has been a tougher sell. 

Ruby looked at me.

“I don’t want to go,” she said, her voice fearful.

“I know,” I said.  “But you will have a blast.” I reminded her of last year. 

She looked puzzled. 

“I don’t remember,” she said, her brow furrowed.

I told her her cousins would most likely be there.  That helped somewhat.

Getting ready this morning, she bounced off the walls.  When Ruby gets nervous, she tends to get goofy. She jumped off the couch into a hot pink beanbag.  She put her underwear on over her pajamas.  You know, the usual.

We got to the church a little early because I had final paperwork to fill out.  I took a pen and the form to an empty round table, Ruby trailing me.

“Hi Susan,” a wonderful little girl I know greeted me. She’s from a family who attends the same church we do.  More friends!

Once we turned in the paperwork, Ruby noticed something else.

“Oh, look!” she said.  She pointed to the roster.  “I know Jenny, and Angie.” Ruby smiled up at me.

The theme for this year’s VBS?  You are not alone.  May it sink down into Ruby’s soul.

 

Leave a Reply

