Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday, we left Shelton and drove south to Rockaway, OR. Here are a few pictures.

Our accommodations.

Our accommodations. Probably 500 sq. feet altogether.

Twin Rocks

Twin Rocks

Rockaway beach

IMG_20140717_151947_976

Coastline view past Seaside.

The neighbors.

The neighbors.

And their hydrangeas.

And their hydrangeas. I am loving this flower lately.

I’m sorry I didn’t get a post up, but we took the long way home. We hit US 30 and drove through Clatskanie. The sun made the day feel like the best ice cream cone, delicious and cool. Summer in the Pacific Northwest – there’s nothing like it. I think it’s our reward after 60-plus inches of annual rainfall. We hit 101 in Astoria and sailed through the picturesque towns – Seaside, Gearhart, Wheeler, Netarts. They’ll never be hugely popular destinations due to the nice weather only making an appearance around June-October.  But that makes it even more special, like blueberry season.  You treasure the sweetness even more because of the fleeting nature of the fruit.

I love the Oregon coat. I grew up vacationing down here, trips with my mom and brother and trips with my dad and brother. We stayed in big houses and small houses, more like shacks. We stayed on the beach or close to the beach. Oregon’s beaches are public access, which makes it magical for little kids. My brother and I would get up early and comb the beach, searching for shiny rocks and shells.  We pocketed whole sand dollars.  One time, we even found a Japanese float.  Score!

This morning, steeped in memories, I headed out for a run. It’s a great way to explore places. I find running in a new place irresistible.

The fog shrouded everything in mystery. I angled down our street and over. I went into a little dip in the half-paved road and saw a truck idling in its driveway as I hit a rise. I ran a few steps further and saw why. A deer, not 20 feet from me, nibbled the petunias in the neighbor’s yard. He looked up at me. He had 2 soft half-grown antlers covered in fur. His companion, an adolescent fawn, nibbled grass near the small house. I wished, not for the first time, that I’d brought my phone to snap pictures.

We stood there, frozen in foggy morning amber. His big brown eyes watched me. I gazed back, unsure what to do. I looked at the truck behind me. I pointed out the deer to the baseball-capped driver. He nodded. No way could I keep going on that road, as much as I wanted to. I would scare off the deer and wreck a beautiful moment for someone else. I turned around and jogged back the way I came, smiling all the while. Today, I would carve my own route and a new memory.

 

