The Dance

I did my long run today.  I ran slowly, trying not to go too quickly in the early morning humidity.  It was so bad, I could’ve used a snorkel. The fog obscured landmarks. I chugged along 101, watching the little lakes appear on either side of me and the birds flutter from power line to power line. I got to the turn around point and headed back.  I looked at my watch.  Wow!  I went faster than I thought for 7 miles. My grin stretched to the back of my head.

Only it wasn’t 7 miles.  It was only six.  I misunderstood the route.

Sigh.

At this point, most of you are saying, Susan, who cares?  Geez. You ran 6 miles.  Be glad!  And I am, sorta. Training for the half marathon I’m signed up for in September has challenged my belief in myself.  Incrementally increasing the distance to be ready for 13 miles by race day seems nearly impossible.  I’m behind schedule now, which irks me.

Then I saw the above graphic. The little girl dances with abandon, joy in every movement.  Can I savor this journey, even if it’s rather sedate at times?  The Bible says God rejoices over us.

For the Lord your God is living among you.     He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness.     With his love, he will calm all your fears.     He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.Zephaniah 3:17

Rejoicing makes me think of dancing – joyful, infectious movement.  Thinking of God’s pleasure in me, just as I am, comforts me. I did the best I could today.  It didn’t meet my expectations, but it’ll have to be enough.  I can rejoice in that. Heck, I might even dance.

 

Leave a Reply

