Tags

, , ,

I like to think of myself as someone who tells it like it is.  I guess my close friends would say I am.

The other day, Jonathon and I were laughing over a Facebook meme. I think I even rolled my eyes.  The same theme kept coming up in my feed, over and over.  He mentioned how he’d like to respond, but didn’t.  He never would.  The thought of it, though, that’s what got us laughing.

“I just want to punch them in the groin,” I said.  Not that I would.  But it expressed exactly how I felt about the whole thing.  Yeah.  I’m direct. I try to curtail it, yet sometimes it slips out. Sorry.

Today I spent a long visit with an old friend of mine.  We both speak frankly.  I filter a bit more than she does, but we both know it.  Years ago, she gave me a bit of advice about a certain situation.

She looked me in the eye, her dark eyes flashing concern, and said, “That person is trying to control you.”

At the time, I came away a little unsettled and confused.  She must have misinterpreted things. How in the world…?  I was grown, married, with kids of my own.  I had a mortgage.  I paid taxes.  I worked. Nobody had me cowed. I shook my head.

Wrong.

Now, several years have gone by.  The friend said it again today.

“How will you get out from under their control?”

My friend tried to show me the muddle I’d been in for a long time, but I couldn’t – or didn’t want – to see it.  The skies cleared, and I could see that God did that work through a series of rather painful circumstances. Funny she should ask. I related to her all that transpired and where I found myself now.

Can I just say I’m very thankful for good friends who speak the truth in love to me, sometimes more than once?  Let me say to you:  I’m listening.  I hear you.  I might not have a pocket to put it in at this point or a spot to anchor it on my internal wall, but in time I will.  Don’t stop.  I need it and I need you.  I hope I can do the same for you, if you’ll let me.

Instead, we will speak the truth in love, growing in every way more and more like Christ, who is the head of his body, the church. – Ephesians 4:15

