The Cat Came Back, Part 2

A few weeks ago, I wrote about my mom and her cat disappearing.  I apologize if that sounded mean.  I’m not a big fan of her cats, but she is. Her orange tiger cat, Baby, came home a couple of weeks ago.  But he was in the neighborhood; he just didn’t know it. He got lost in the wilderness around Shelton.

The bigger news is about her other cat, Little Boy.  She moved to Shelton June 21. Little Boy bolted that moving day and hadn’t been seen since.  Her former neighbor called yesterday to let her know he’d spotted the missing cat loitering around her place in Portland.

Bam!  I love stories like these. 

Remember that old slogan from the 1970s? ,”If you love something, set it free.  If it comes back to you, it’s yours.  If it doesn’t it was never meant to be.”  Que sera, sera. 

Right.

I hated that slogan.  Because I’m the “If it’s truly mine, chain it up and stake it in the yard” kind of gal. Don’t even *think* of running away, because I will find you.  And it won’t be pretty. I don’t like it when those I love – be they animal or people – go away.  It makes me sad.  It hurts. Maybe you feel the same.  It’s less painful if they stick around, near you. Yes, it’s selfish. It’s also protection. I think it’s how we’re wired.  Love invests in others.  It means I extended care and maybe you reached back in kind. When somehow the relationship gets strained or severed, pain ensues.

I’m reminded of this scripture:  So Jesus told them this story:  “If a man has a hundred sheep and one of them gets lost, what will he do? Won’t he leave the ninety-nine others in the wilderness and go to search for the one that is lost until he finds it?  And when he has found it, he will joyfully carry it home on his shoulders. When he arrives, he will call together his friends and neighbors, saying, ‘Rejoice with me because I have found my lost sheep.’ In the same way, there is more joy in heaven over one lost sinner who repents and returns to God than over ninety-nine others who are righteous and haven’t strayed away!– Luke 15:1-7

When someone comes back, renewed relationship happens.  In Mom’s case, I imagine there will be lots of petting from her and purring from the cat, with much rejoicing on both sides. Both will dole out reassurance to be there for each other in the future. I pray it’s a long and happy friendship. It’s never too late to come home.

 

Leave a Reply

