Tags

, , ,

I got some revised payrolls emailed to me today.  Woot!  I know.  You’re not excited.  Well, these payrolls have been incorrect since last year.  As in, since they put them out in August 2013.  Yep.  For all intents and purposes, it looks like they paid their guys right.  They simply didn’t document it correctly, or in any way regular humans could follow.  This, friends, is the last item on the list, the most important thing to complete before the project can head to closeout.  

The task seemed impossible.  The subcontractor wouldn’t budge. My counterpart at the prime contractor sent them no less than 10 emails about it. She also held onto their pay.  Money talks.  I suppose the lack of money might say even more, like “I need to eat!” Regardless, she got through. 

I almost jigged.  Again. Gotta do something about that.

What could be better than the story above?  I’ll tell you. 

This morning, I found a piece of paper at my place at the table. I turned it over and smiled. It was a note from a “seceret admirer”.  The writer is quite the poet.  “Your laughs are like singing birds, your color hair like your daughters. Roses are red, and violets are blue.  I love you Susan.”

I wonder who it could be?  Jonathon denied it and so did Zac.  Hmmm….

The combination of these two things happening on a Monday almost – almost – made me want to live it again. I love good news. Bring on the Tuesday, world.  I’m ready.

