Lift Up Your Face

I can’t get enough of this song today. It keeps hitting me between the eyes.  The lead singer of Third Day, Mac Powell, has a voice like the best velvety chocolate cake or perfectly grilled sirloin, take your pick. You can almost stick a fork in it, it’s so tangible. His blues-rock-gospel vocals stand out from a host of Jeremy Camp/Chris Tomlin copycats. I have several Third Day songs on my mp3 player.  For a long season, they provided music for the first half of my training runs.  I clicked to their selections first. They didn’t disappoint. Their compilation made up about 20 minutes of running, the first 8 or so straight uphill. Third Day’s worshipful songs encouraged me, helped me to press on when lying down on the pavement seemed much the better option. 

I find this song bringing the same hope to my heart today. Songs based on scriptural truths have that ability. I’m in a “lift up your face” place right now.  I’m holding on, and I encourage you to do the same. God will come through, if we only wait.

To you, O LORD, I lift up my soul. I trust in you, my God! Do not let me be disgraced, or let my enemies rejoice in my defeat. – Psalm 25: 1-2

 

Leave a Reply

