Tags

, , ,

The touch of ick turned into a bit of a cold.  I feel okay for a little while, then all I want to do is lie down. 

Summer colds stink, in case you were wondering.

For those of you worried I’m at home moping about getting laid off/let go/downsized, don’t be.  I’m just lying low because I need to. For my head and my sinuses. Oh, and the cough. The usual progression is sneezing, sneezing and coughing, which then often leads to nearly losing my voice.

I don’t like slowing down.  I haven’t been able to run at all.  I’ve taken the kids to the dentist,out to get a few groceries and put gas in the car.  Those don’t count as “runs”, where you sample the fresh morning air, gaze upon the sun’s opening act and get sweaty. Those don’t clear my mind and spirit like a good run does.

I don’t like sitting around. I like to be out and doing, especially when the weather is so nice and I have total freedom again.I feel better in motion. I ironed today. Woo hoo! I finished a book.  I’ve discreetly encouraged Zac about his schoolwork. Then, after all the hard work of the day, I got horizontal.

I don’t like the frown. Getting sick often means I get discouraged as well.  Truly, there’s no reason to be gloomy.  Getting sick happens to the evil and the good (Susan paraphrase).  I take pretty good care of myself as a general rule and I rarely take ill.  When I do, I fall hard.  I guess I have that going for me.  It takes me out of the normal routine of life for a bit.

As a mom, you rarely get a complete day off.  Somebody always seems to need something – lunch, a hug, a spare piece of cardboard. When I feel less than wonderful, I realize I can still get things done.The Lord gives me the strength I need as I lean into Him and rest in His arms.

Those who live in the shelter of the Most High
    will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
This I declare about the Lord:
He alone is my refuge, my place of safety;
    he is my God, and I trust him. – Psalm 91:1-2

 

 

