I picked up the latest issue of Book Page (America’s Book Review) on my trip the library earlier today. I read an interview with Jan Karon, author of the Father Tim series. After 5 years, she’s written another book in the series featuring a retired Father Time and his vivacious writer wife Cynthia entitled Somewhere Safe With Someone Good. The interviewer asked her an important question.

Faith is important to your stories, but it never overwhelms them.  How do you incorporate Christianity without making it feel didactic?

Her answer blessed me.

“If it is didactic, it is not Christianity. Many are scared to death of faith, and perhaps especially the Christian faith, which is radical, dangerous and exhausting.  But of course it is also joyful, healing and transforming.  A lot to chew, this Christianity, it is not for sissies.”

Amen. 

Which begs the question:  am I truly living this kind of faith?  Do I come across as didactic?  I hope not. Am I letting it change me enough so that I can help others?  It’s an ongoing mission, this life of faith. Food for thought, and discussion. I am reminded of Paul’s words to the Philippians:

Dear friends, you always followed my instructions when I was with you. And now that I am away, it is even more important. Work hard to show the results of your salvation, obeying God with deep reverence and fear. – Philippians 2:12

 

 

